INCARCERATED FEMININITY – THE BURQA – AND ME – WOMEN’S SUFFERAGE


As a Transsexual woman, it seems that I can relate to these struggling women. Is my body, my burqa? I don’t intend in any way to take away from the intensity of these women who are incarcerated and their struggle. However their words are powerful and I can relate to them especially the following: My face hidden, I smile unseen; I try to be brave, show my presence, I am invisible, See me; don’t see me, but I am here, take my picture I am a novelty to you. I am a woman who has been incarcerated in the wrong body! I AM JAMIE LEE

As you read these words, I hope it strikes your heart. Could you imagine that if at any given moment, all the burqa’s were removed from these women, how much more divine femininity and beauty would be in the world!

The Afghan Women’s Writing Project http://awwproject.org/discover-awwp/history-mission/

Voices are getting louder and louder,

Those voices that have always been meaningful

Even when no one heard or cared about them
those voices that tear the moon, sun, stars—

The sky screams for the sorrowful voices
the sun spreads their sound everywhere.

The moon smiles for the chattering hearts of women, who always wanted the world to hear. Stars get energy from those voices and shine.

Yes, these are the voices of those desperate and hopeful Afghan women

Who were tomboys in childhood, but when they grew up instead of a pen they got a baby in their hands.

Who were always thirsty to see the world beyond the house.

Who always wanted to take a deep breath in fresh air, but the prison of the burqa became like a part of the body.

Who always tried to have a voice, but were silenced.

Whose dreams remained dreams! For whom tears, grief, and worry were friends.

Who sacrificed their lives for others and never wanted to break hearts.
Who gave everything for the world.

Now from those voices come magic words:

I am proud I am a woman
I am not going to dream anymore; I will make my dreams come true
I am powerful
I challenge the people who hate women.

Woman means life.

Woman means humanity.

Woman means guider.

Woman means ability.

I will show you that one day woman means power!

Life begins with woman!

And, ends with woman!

Is complete with woman!

By Farahnaz

My face hidden, I smile unseen. It is I
Afghan woman, under burqa.

I try to be brave, show my presence.
See me; don’t see me, but I am here.

I don’t care how hot it is under burqa.

I am invisible.

I am part of my community.

I am here, Afghan woman
under Taliban burqa.

I cannot use chader namaz—
for I will be recognized.

My life threatened if they know
what I do under burqa.

They will make me stop working,
take my job, my life.

But I am an Afghan woman who wants
to stay safe, continue my fight.

Yes, I am brave under burqa,
enslaved in my generation of war.

Banned from education, my illiterate
sisters cannot work.

Some hide, learn in home-based classes,
work today, still at risk.

Foreign women come to see us,
under burqa, take our picture—
we are interesting, novel for them.

They don’t understand
our burqas are jail and safety made of fabric.
We are hidden beneath blue cloth,
confined, yet secure.

I am Afghan woman, working under burqa. We are many
and if there is one, we are all.
Afghan women.

Insha’Allah, we will one day
remove the burqa.

Yes, it is I, Afghan woman, under burqa—
Remember me.

By Seeta

Note: chader namaz is a large prayer scarf that covers the entire body.
Insha’Allah is the Arabic term for ” God willing”

WORDS OF WISDOM


What we are today comes from our thoughts of yesterday, and our present thoughts build our life of tomorrow: Our life is the creation of our mind.

He who experiences the unity of life sees his own self in all beings, and all beings in his own Self, and looks on everything with an impartial eye.

Peace comes from within. Do not seek it without.

The mind is the source of happiness and unhappiness.

Believe nothing merely because you have been told it. Do not believe what your teacher tells you merely out of respect for the teacher. But whatsoever, after due examination and analysis, you find to be kind, conducive to the good, the benefit, the welfare of all beings — that doctrine believe and cling to, and take it as your guide.

Health is the greatest gift, contentment the greatest wealth, faithfulness the best relationship.

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense.

We are formed and molded by our thoughts. Those whose minds are shaped by selfless thoughts give joy when they speak or act. Joy follows them like a shadow that never leaves them.

Holding on to anger is like grasping a hot coal with the intent of throwing it at someone else; you are the one getting burned.

Yes, when you see for the first time, a great laughter arises in you – the laughter about the whole ridiculousness of your misery, the laughter about the whole foolishness of your problems, the laughter about the whole absurdity of your suffering.

Even death is not to be feared by one who has lived wisely.

No one saves us but ourselves. No one can and no one may. We ourselves must walk the path.

The mind is everything. What you think you become.

There are only two mistakes one can make along the road to truth; not going all the way, and not starting.

There has to be evil so that good can prove its purity above it.

Three things cannot be long hidden: the sun, the moon, and the truth.

Virtue is persecuted more by the wicked than it is loved by the good.

What we think, we become.

You will not be punished for your anger; you will be punished by your anger.

Submitted by:

Jamie Lee